astrowigeon150, Merseyside
"astronomer and vegan activist"
Favourite Book: strange science fiction like...
Favourite Song: 'the Holographic Principle' by Epica, 'Jungles of Jupiter' by Toyah. .... Morrissey
Favourite Film: Blade Runner, Star Wars, Interstellar etc.
Favourite Quote: Be proud for you are all made from the stars, be humble because you are all made from the soil

Additional Information

3 things I could not live without:
books, running shoes, binoculars
A bit about me...:
I am vegan since the 1980s. Grew up on Merseyside. I did a degree in Physics, than a PhD in astronomy at Durham Uni, then I worked in astronomy research (galaxy evolution etc.) for 20 years. I am hoping to return to it soon, but unfortunately my funding was discontinued and I am unemployed at the moment. I have lived in several countries, including USA and most recently Portugal, but returned to UK last year. I am involved in animal rights/vegan activism and interested in running (did a half-marathon in Liverpool in 01:59:55, have been taking part in parkruns), science fiction, member of Green Party, volunteering in organic farming with WWOOF (have done lots), hill walking, walking on the beach, birdwatching, whales and dolphins, nature, astronomy, Buddhism, exploring...
For me the benefits of being vegan/vegetarian are...:
Not participating in the cruel and needless exploitation and killing of animals... and being part of a global movement to stop it. Helping to stop deforestation, pollution, extinctions and and climate change. Improved health and less risk of disease.
I am hoping to meet...:
New friends with similar interests, to go on a date for the first time in some years and even find a (vegan) girlfriend.
My favourite vegan / vegetarian meal is?:
I like veg curries...
My favourite vegan / vegetarian restaurant is?:
I found so many good ones in Porto and Lisbon. Right now, don't eat out so much... but have been to quite a few vegan fairs/festivals. I just went to the Animal Rebellion occupation of Smithfield and had a vege burger at nearby Flipside
My guests (living or dead, actual people or fictional characters) to the ultimate dinner party would include...:
Buddha, Paul Watson of Sea Shepherd, David Bowie, Toyah, Albert Einstein,
My ideal vacation would be:
it would include mountains, forests, beaches, maybe archaeological sites, starry skies and a lot of birds and wildlife (whale watching?)

Quick Details

Body Type: Slim
Diet: vegan
Do I have children?: No
Do I want chidren?: No
Dream home: Beach House
Drink?: Tee-total
Education: PhD / Post Doc
Eye Color: Brown
Favourite music: Heavy Metal, Indie, Pop, Rock, World
Hair Color: Dark Brown
Height: 5ft9 - 6ft
Hobbies: Cinema, Cooking, Gardening, Live Music, Photography, Reading, Sports/Fitness, The Arts, Travelling
Languages: English
Love: Animals, Computers, Exercise, Grapefruit, Journeys, Politics, Winter
Religion: Buddhist
Smoke?: Never
Star sign: Capricorn
Style of dress: Style... what style?
Vegan/Veggie for:: 10 years +
Vegetarian because:: Moral reasons
Sorry but you must login in order to use this function
Sorry but you must login in order to use this function
Sorry but you must login in order to use this function
Sorry but you must login in order to use this function
Sorry but you must login in order to use this function
Sorry but you must login in order to use this function